Classes of Dangerous Goods

Colourful sunset at M1 motorway near Flitwick junction with blurry cars in United Kingdom.

Dangerous goods are assigned to different classes depending on their predominant hazard. The UN classifies dangerous goods in the following classes and, where applicable, divisions:

UN Class Dangerous Goods Division(s) if applicable Classification
1 Explosives 1.1-1.6 Explosives
2 Gases 2.1 Flammable gas
    2.2 Non-flammable gas, non-toxic gas
    2.3 Toxic gas
3 Flammable liquids   Flammable liquid
4 Flammable solids 4.1 Flammable solid
    4.2 Spontaneous combustible substance
    4.3 Substance which emits flammable gas in contact with water
5 Oxidizers and organic peroxides 5.1 Oxidisng substance
    5.2 Organic peroxide
6 Toxic and infectious substances 6.1 Toxic substance
    6.2 Infectious substance
7 Radioactive material   Radioactive material
8 Corrosive material   Corrosive material
9 Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles   Miscellaneous dangerous substances and articles

The consignor - the person or business shipping the goods - is responsible for classifying, marking and packaging the dangerous goods.

Training Courses

To qualify for an ADR Driver Training Certificate, drivers must undertake a course of training at a centre approved by the Department for Transport, and must pass the examinations relevant to the classes of dangerous goods to be carried.

To find out about the cost of training and the availability of courses, approach a training centre.